Calling all friends

I had a great time, once again, listening to the Women of Web 2.0 webcast Tuesday night. But before it started, I checked my Skype and saw that my friend Anne Baird was online, so I asked her if she was going to listen to WOW2.0. It’s important to know that I live in Illinois, USA and Anne lives in Charlton, Victoria, Australia.

Now think about this for a minute … when else in history has this phenomenon been possible. I could have picked up the phone and called Anne and told her about the program – of course in that scenario it would have been a TV program. Or I could have sent her a telegram telling her to listen to … you got it … a radio program.

The phone call is the best parallel – anyone know what a phone call from the States to Australia costs per minute? Well, I can tell you that my Skype message was free, as was our time online listening to the webcast.

By the way, Anne will be a guest speaker in my undergraduate Secondary Issues class in the fall. No, she’s not flying in .. you’re right … I’m Skyping her into my classroom.

This is so cool!

YEA!

3 thoughts on “Calling all friends

  1. Technological Tools are great, but they pale in comparison to what future generations will use. Think again of the radio….compare that to the tv…..now to our web2.0. Who knew?

  2. We need to keep pushing our colleagues, Durff! Get them ready to handle the future students. Of course, our students will keep pushing us. 🙂

  3. I wish I had you for my prof right now. I have to take a course for Act 48 credit to keep my PA certification. I feel like I have been left out to dry. Your students sound so supported! They are very lucky!

Leave a Reply

