Have I told you recently … ?

Have I told you recently how amazed I am with what we can do with our participatory technologies? Well, I’m still in awe and want to share a short story.

Yesterday I was sitting in a group, waiting for a meeting to start, when one of my colleagues started talking about her upcoming trip to India … actually it was the next day! I asked if she was ready and she said, “Somewhat, but I haven’t even started packing. I’m not really sure what to take.” Well, as always, I had my laptop with me so I checked to see who was on Skype. Lo and behold, there’s Julie Lyndsay, of Flat Classroom fame, world traveler, currently living in Qatar. I Skyped Julie and asked her advice. She suggested buying clothes at the shops near the hotel and try to fit in with how the locals dressed.

I am a seasoned traveler … having traveled extensively throughout Asia (China, Japan, Korea, and the Phillippines) and Great Britain … and even the old USA … BUT … I am still tickled how easy the technologies make connecting with someone 1/2 way around the world. I don’t want to ever take for granted all we have at our fingertips.

HappyWhat a thrill!

7 thoughts on “Have I told you recently … ?

  1. Well perhaps you can help me also (chuckling).

    I’m coming to Washington DC for NECC and “I haven’t even started packing. I’m not really sure what to take.”

    Worse still it is now winter season here so you can’t buy summer clothes. I know that type of clothes people wear here at conferences in Australia. Tends to be nice trousers (not jeans) and nice shirt. What is the dress standards for NECC?

  2. Sue,

    It will be hot and muggy in Washington, DC, but as always, probably cold inside the conference center, so a sweater or jacket will be good. Generally, what you described sounds good. Although there will be folks in shorts and sandals.

    I look forward to seeing you there!

  3. Everyone has been telling me about it being humid. I’m going to be really curious to see how humid it is. My father and mother in laws went there at the same time of the year — they said it was fine.

    Will they be shorts or would some people wear denim shorts?

  4. Hmmm – I don’t recall. I would say go with dressy casual :-). I usually wear non-dressy pants with a shirt and non-dressy jacket. Sometimes I’ll wear a girly t-shirt under another shirt. That way I’m warm enough. If I’m presenting, I’ll dress it up a little more. But by the last day or so, I might even wear knickers. πŸ™‚

  5. Oh dear Cheri, I can’t help myself. I have thought about it but chuckling I have to ask. In USA speak when you say knickers do you mean knickerbockers i.e. like shorts?

    It is just in Australian (any many other countries) we use the word knickers a real lot – it means woman’s underpants. That is where the Aussie saying “Don’t get your knickers in a knot comes from.”

    I’m now seriously worried that I may need to bring an Aussie-USA translator…….but don’t worry I won’t get my knickers in a twist over it 😎

  6. Sue, that is hilarious. I was trying to figure out a term … guess I picked the wrong one! πŸ™‚

    I’m talking about what they used to call peddle pushers in the 50’s the mid-calf length pants. I just looked it up and they’re called capri pants. Here’s an example: http://tinyurl.com/m6u963.

    This is so funny … you could have started a new American trend by showing up in your Australian knickers!! πŸ™‚

  7. Yes I guessed it would be knickerbockers or some form of shorts.

    But if an Aussie has written that it would have been interpreted that you were doing a Brittney Spears and the last day was the only day you were going to wear underpants. Honest fair dinkum — ask Julie Lindsay 😎

Leave a Reply

