Schooling the creativity out of them

drawingFlickr: vrogy

Yesterday I ventured over to the dark side … the forbidden zone for higher education faculty … my undergraduate (pre-service teachers) child development students were divided into work groups ad required to provide a visual representation of their topic areas.

Yes, its true … they spent the classtime drawing. Oh, and I also had four cannisters of playdough, so a couple of them really took a leap.

What I saw were young adults who didn’t know what to do … they asked me what I wanted … they asked how they should draw. Some of them started and asked me if what they were doing was ok.

This is very sad. But, I will be trying to help them locate their creativity again so that when they are out in the schools they will think twice before they perpetuate the squelching of creativity.

Leave a Reply

