Tech Tool Tuesday #9

Polling Tools

Polling tools embedded in blogs, wikis, presentation software, and websites enable teachers, students, and groups to collect information, elicit opinions, and check for understanding with just a click or text message.  The fun part is that the results show up instantly. Here are a couple of tools you can try.

Poll Everywhere – A tool I used recently in a presentation – easy and fun!  Ask a multiple-choice or short answer question and watch the results compile in real time.  Participants can answer with a text message, on a website, or through Twitter.  With the text message (short answer) tool, teachers can use cell phones (or laptops) just like clickers.  There are several plans: Free, K12, Higher Ed, and a variety of pay versions.  The Free plan has a 30-response limit for each poll, but no limits on the number of polls you can create.  The K12 plan has a 32-response limit for each poll. For $50/year you can access individual answers, moderate responses, and set up competitions and comparisons.  The number of responses per poll are bumped up to 40.  There are several videos on the site that explain the features. Embeds into wikis, PPT, KeyNote, Prezi, Twitter, Facebook, Blogger. Alas, this blog does not enable embed codes, so go to my poll at http://snipurl.com/27oh7o.

Polldaddy – Some similar features to Poll Everywhere.  The free version allows 100 responses each month per poll – unlimited polls, 10 questions per poll, link media and URLs within the poll, and reports.  The next level is $200/year and is more than I would need. WordPress and Polldaddy are interconnected.  I created the poll below by clicking on the Add Poll button in my dashboard, put in my Polldaddy account info, and created the poll.  Very easy.  Add to WordPress, Facebook, Twitter, Posterous, and Ning.

So it looks like the two tools do the same thing in different ways and in interactions with other tools. I think I’ll use Poll Everywhere for synchronous interactions and Polldaddy for asynchronous situations. How about you?

2 thoughts on “Tech Tool Tuesday #9

  1. I read your post on poll everywhere earlier in the week, created myself a free account, and explored. After a little brainstorming I realized that you can also use this as a response system in a classroom setting for multiple choice questions. I set up a few questions to try with my students the next day in class. Since we have one-to-one laptops I decided that I would have the students respond through the website, which I learned is a little more involved then I was anticipating. The next morning when I got to school I shared this new technology that I had learned about with my principal and invited her to my classroom to see it in action. I also explained to her that people could respond through their cell phones, but wasn’t going to use that feature since we all have computers. Her response was shocking, she felt that this would be a perfect setting to show the students that cell phones can be useful tools. My students response to being able to use their cell phones in class was amazing! They even encouraged me to find more ways that we can use them! I thought I would share my success story “from the trenches”. Thank you for sharing these wonderful resources!

  2. Sarah,

    It’s great to hear the students’ responses were so positive. It’s also heart warming to know that your principal was supportive of the cell phone use. Too many schools and districts have a blanket ban on cell phones at school.

    If you want to learn more about cell phones in the class, Liz Kolb is the expert. Here’s her website: http://www.cellphonesinlearning.com/.

    Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

