It’s all in the sweat!

When I was at Illinois State, one of my doc students, Karen Dennis, and I had some great conversations about the research on aerobic exercise and its effects on the brain and learning.  Lillian Mongeau’s article, How a Growing Number of States are Hoping to Improve Kids’ Brains: Exercise, made me think of this connection again.  Click the article link and read what she has to say.

CUT TO THE CHASE:
Students need to be moving … I’ve been saying this for as long as I can remember … oh wait … that’s right, I have two degrees in Physical Education (now known as kinesiology or movement science) and a 20-year career in PE and athletic coaching.

But guess what … the cognitive benefits of fitness are not just for kids.   That’s right, you can benefit, too.  So … I CHALLENGE you to take an article or dissertation with you to the gym and read it while you’re on the treadmill, elliptical, or the stair climber.   Need to memorize something – tackle it while you’re getting you’re working out.

THE KEY:
Get your heart rate into that aerobic zone … shoot for the Yellow Zone that my friend, Sally Edwards​, explains on her Heart Zones website.  For me … I shoot for 130-140 bpm.

If you want to read more about the body/brain connection, another great resource is Dr. John Ratey’s book, Spark.

ACTION:
It’s time for you to put science to work

Just MOVE IT!!!

 

Leave a comment